Join us on November 24th for this new webinar on performing live database upgrades for MySQL Replication & Galera led by Krzysztof Książek, Senior Support Engineer at Severalnines. This is part of our ongoing ‘Become a MySQL DBA’ series. 

Database vendors typically release patches with bug/security fixes on a monthly basis, why should we care? After all, upgrading a system is extra work and might incur downtime. Unfortunately, the news is full of reports of security breaches and hacked systems, so unless security is not a concern, you might want to have the most current security fixes on your systems. Major versions are rarer, and usually harder (and riskier) to upgrade to. But they might bring along some important features that make the upgrade worth the effort.

In this webinar we will cover one of the most basic, but essential tasks of the DBA: minor and major database upgrades in production environments.


Tuesday, November 24th at 09:00 GMT / 10:00 CET (Germany, France, Sweden)
Register Now

North America/LatAm
Tuesday, November 24th at 09:00 Pacific Time (US) / 12:00 Eastern Time (US)
Register Now


  • What types of upgrades are there? 
  • How do I best prepare for the upgrades?
  • Best practices for: 
    • Minor version upgrades - MySQL & Galera
    • Major version upgrades - MySQL & Galera


Krzysztof Książek, Senior Support Engineer at Severalnines, is a MySQL DBA with experience managing complex database environments for companies like Zendesk, Chegg, Pinterest and Flipboard. This webinar builds upon recent blog posts and related webinar series by Krzysztof on how to become a MySQL DBA.

To view all the blogs of the ‘Become a MySQL DBA’ series visit:


Related Post