There are many many approaches to MySQL high availability - from traditional, loosely-coupled database setups based on asynchronous replication to more modern, tightly-coupled architectures based on synchronous replication. These offer varying degrees of protection, and DBAs almost always have to choose a trade-off between high-availability and cost.

In this webinar, we will look at some of the most widely used HA alternatives in the MySQL world and discuss their pros and cons.


Tuesday, July 28th at 09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST (Germany, France, Sweden)
Register Now

North America/LatAm
Tuesday, July 28th at 09:00 Pacific Time (US) / 12:00 Eastern Time (US)
Register Now


  • HA - what is it?
  • Caching layer
  • HA solutions
    • MySQL Replication
    • MySQL Cluster
    • Galera Cluster
    • Hybrid Replication
  • - Proxy layer
    • HAProxy
    • MaxScale
    • Elastic Load Balancer (AWS)
  • - Common issues
    • Split brain scenarios 
    • GTID-based failover and Errant Transactions


Krzysztof Książek, Senior Support Engineer at Severalnines, is a MySQL DBA with experience managing complex database environments for companies like Zendesk, Chegg, Pinterest and Flipboard. This webinar builds upon recent blog posts and related webinar series by Krzysztof on how to become a MySQL DBA.

We look forward to “seeing” you there and to insightful discussions!

Related Post