With the rise of agile development methodologies, more and more systems and applications are built in series of iterations. This is true for the database schema as well, as it has to evolve together with the application. Unfortunately, schema changes and databases do not play well together. Changes usually require plenty of advance scheduling, and can be disruptive to your operations. 

In this new webinar, we will discuss how to implement schema changes in the least impacting way to your operations and ensure availability of your database. We will also cover some real-life examples and discuss how to handle them.


Tuesday, August 25th at 09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST (Germany, France, Sweden)
Register Now

North America/LatAm
Tuesday, August 25th at 09:00 Pacific Time (US) / 12:00 Eastern Time (US)
Register Now


  • Different methods to perform schema changes on MySQL Replication and Galera
    • rolling schema change
    • online alters
    • external tools, e.g., pt-online-schema-change
  • Differences between MySQL 5.5 and 5.6
  • Differences between MySQL Replication vs Galera
  • Example real-life scenarios with MySQL Replication and Galera setups



Krzysztof Książek, Senior Support Engineer at Severalnines, is a MySQL DBA with experience managing complex database environments for companies like Zendesk, Chegg, Pinterest and Flipboard. This webinar builds upon recent blog posts and related webinar series by Krzysztof on how to become a MySQL DBA.

We look forward to “seeing” you there and to insightful discussions!

Related Post